“I Could Never Do That.”

Me: “I think I’m going to run a half-marathon”

My friend: “Um, maybe you should try a 5k first?”

Yes, my (brutally honest) friend is right. I’ve never run in a 5k before, so maybe I should set my expectations a little lower. But that’s not really my style. I have a history of naïvely setting unrealistic goals and only after I’ve accomplished said goal do I realize “why did I think I could actually do that?!” It’s a pretty decent character flaw to have and now that I’ve recognized this flaw I’m choosing to use it to my advantage.

A number of factors led me to the decision to run the 13.1 mile race. I recently went through a difficult few months. My boyfriend and I of four years broke up and I was left pretty wrecked. At the time was 25 and I was still carrying around the “freshman 15 (*cough*25*cough*)” from college. My life revolved around my boyfriend and I lost my identity in the process. We have since reconciled and it turns out that those few months apart was thing that could’ve happened to me (and to our relationship).

During those months I was able to re-discover who I was as a person and pretty soon I was bit by the fitness bug. I took up boxing classes a few times a week, hit the gym and began eating super healthy. The pounds fell off. I felt great and I had so much energy I didn’t know what to do with it all! I actually looked forward to the gym. It was baffling to me, but I just went with it.

Fast forward to today: I’m bored. I’ve reached a good weight (although I’d like to lose another 5-10 more) and I need a new goal to keep my interest. Recently a friend of mine ran in a local half-marathon and I remember thinking “I could never do that”. The second that thought passed through my mind I knew I had stumbled across my next target.

I don’t know what I don’t know about running a half-marathon. Hopefully by October 4, 2009 I’ll have a better grasp on things…

Leave a Reply

