Good things come in threes…I hope

registered2

It’s official! Today I registered for the Smuttynose Half Marathon. I chose to wait until today to register for one reason alone: I’m broke and today is payday! So, now I’m financially locked in for the October 4 race along the coast of NH. After I registered for the event, this image popped up on the screen:

registered3

Yikes! Talk about using scare tactics to hock their training program! Thankfully I’ve been right on track with training so far.  I ran my longest run so far (5 miles) in Central Park yesterday and it went much smoother than I expected. I’m by no means fast (10 minute miles…) but I’ve been consistent and so far I haven’t ended a run looking like the poor soul above. So I’ll keep chugging along.

After registering for the half, I began my search for a shorter run to do this month. I found and registered for the Achilles Hope and Possibility 5 Mile Run on June 28th in Central Park. The run is the exact loop I did yesterday in the park, so I felt that was a good omen. According to the website, the run “brings together athletes with disabilities and able-bodied athletes in a celebration of running”. The race was inspired by the book “I Am The Central Park Jogger: A Story of Hope and Possibility”, by Trisha Meili (check out the Runner’s World article here). The book is an account of how Meili was attacked while running in the Central Park over 20 years ago. I have a feeling the race is going to be an inspirational experience.

Shortly after registering for those two races, a friend emailed me and let me know that he had just registered for the Central Park Run 4 Mile Run on July 18. After checking my schedule, it turns out that July 18th was the only weekend all July that I was going to be in the city. So I decided to go for it, and charged my card without a second thought. Who needs rent money anyway?

One response to “Good things come in threes…I hope

  1. Hey great blog! I’m running the smuttynose this coming weekend too! Good luck! I’ll be trying to keep up with the 9mile pacers

Leave a comment